Adam's Images

By ajt

Imprissoned

I had today off work. After breakfast and a morning dog walk I thought I'd do a few essential jobs now I'd upgraded everything and could confirm all was working. However I hit a problem - which this time was outside of my control.

Computers on a network now mostly use a scheme called Internet Protocol (IP) and that gives every device a unique number or a special local number which is only unique locally. Most of us are used to the old version of this called IPv4, with addresses that look like 10.11.12.13, but there is a newer version called IPv6, where the addresses are much longer and look like this 2001:db8:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff.

My French Internet Service Provider gives me one IPv4 address which is shared by all my computers using NAT, so all the IPv4 address of my computers use a locally unique private address. Plus an IPv6 block, so all my computers have a globally unique IPv6 address, to which I add a private IPv6 address. This has worked well for a few years, but today my ISP stopped giving me an IPv6 address and I spent all day arguing the toss (in bad French) trying to get them to understand that I have IPv4 but no IPv6 and that this is a problem as I need IPv6.

The dog's evening walk was much shorter and later than he would have liked as a result of this waste of time, and the blip of the inside of our old garden gate that's been modified and rehung sums up our day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.