BRIANW

By BRIANW

Head Over Heels, Hanover Square, London

We haven't been affected by snow storms that seem to have hit other parts of the country. Instead it's been wet and windy and almost mild. I still felt I had to go out for my usual lunchtime stroll and that's when I captured today's image in Hanover Square, which is a very short walk from where I work. It has has had  quite the makeover, I'm presuming as part of the huge Crossrail project that eventually became the new Elizabeth Line (one of the entrances for the new Bond Street station is at the northern end of the square itself).
The square now has a central green which I didn't realise is raised above the surronuding circular path. This is marked by a metal rim which I unfortunately didn't spot as I made my way to towards the sculpture at it's centre. I proceeded to go arse over tit (or head over heels if you prefer) while carrying some food shopping in one hand and my camera in the other! I landed with quite a thump, the air knocked out of my lungs and my ego badly bruised (my upper thigh is still really sore) but I brushed myself down and took today's image anyway. I loved the reflections and raindrops and, as an added bonus, managed to include myself in the shot. Painful but worth it in the end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.