rhona121

By rhona121

A well travelled cowslip

My favourite colour combination.

The native bluebells were here when we moved five years ago but the cowslips have some history.

About 30 years ago I bought a single cowslip plant for my garden in the SE of England. It survived but didn't thrive. When we moved to Birmingham 25 years ago I dug up the cowslip and took it with us. It did a little better in the midlands than the south east.

With the new owner's permission we brought many plants with us when we moved to Scotland; one of them was the cowslip. Clearly conditions here suit it admirably. Not only are there now multiple plants in the pot, but it has self-seeded around the garden. I shall lift some of the seedlings and plant them among the bluebells, so that I can have this wonderful juxtaposition of blue and yellow year after year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.