Lynese

By Lynese

Tzum

I have a question troubling my mind today. When I reach Sofia Airport tomorrow, do I change my Bulgarian Leva to Euros in preparation for my upcoming voyages to Euroland, or keep them with the prospect of a sunshine soaked break on the Black Sea coast at some unknown juncture?

It is with a very heavy heart and a lump in my throat that my instinct tells me this will be my last visit to Sofia. I've strutted Vitosha Boulevard, squinted at the sun bouncing off the golden roofs of Alexander Nevski Cathedral, walked around St George's Rotunda, studied the beautiful face of Serdica - protecting the city she named and finally wandered around Tzum, the eerily quiet Central Department Store pictured here.

I will never say never, but I believe I might shed a tear of "Adieux" as my plane takes off for Gatwick tomorrow morning with Vitosha Mountain casting a bluish shadow across all below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.