Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Pheasant in turnip sauce

I'm always so surprised to see a pheasant up a tree.  I know they're birds but somehow I never think of them belonging anywhere but in long grass or fields - on the ground!

This one was, of course, in the reserve.  There was no sunlight to make him look glamorous, but still he's a pretty boy.  I wonder where he came from.

The rest of the day - that is three-quarters of it - I've spent trying to extract the second prescription for K from the chemist.  Yesterday I got the antibiotics for her ear infection.  Today I had to go back for the stuff she's being given for labyrinthitis.  It wasn't in yesterday, they had to put in an order.  I was to pick it up after 11am.  It wasn't ready.  Then they closed for lunch.  I went back afterwards and it was going to be ready in an hour.  It wasn't.  When I finally got it and went to catch the bus that had been cancelled.  You know those days?

Never mind, as I was passing the fruit and veg stall I asked the sometimes grumpy stall-holder if he'd sold many turnips recently.  He growled, 'I've never sold turnips in me life.  Bloody politicians!'  That cheered me up ;))

(Sorry, non-UK blippers, just a silly piece of increasingly foolish British politics whereby in the current shortages we're being advised to substitute the lack of tomatoes for turnips - mmm, pasta with turnip sauce, my favourite.)

Have a good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.