Yup, definitely foliage?

We bought Arum Italicum some years ago now.  Prize Wazzack either didn't log the event - OR- didn't, rightly, tag it - 1st mention was in May '17 when I also said, nearly verbatim what I've posted here as. 

IF I. remember I'll try & do a shot of the flower, probably May again.

Note to self:-
Try & get shots of next doors & a Wild one for comparison.

I've not found the one I found @ last look but this is A. N. A. D.  the same info;
"Once the flowers appear, the leaves fade quickly and are gone by May.  The flowers are followed by seedheads.  The berries are green at first, then turn orange and finally brilliant red.  These are very poisonous and appealing to small people: saying that, I survived a garden full of them and played endlessly in woods full of its native relative, cuckoopint (A. maculatum).  My mother’s tales of poisonous plants were as good as any fairytales, so I’m not suggesting you should rip them out just because you have kids, just add a cautionary tale."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.