dashing away with the smoothing iron*

This is now how I spend my first hour at work on a Friday, in the small back room full of steam, ironing aprons and jackets. I enjoy it, because I don't iron anything at home, so it's a bit of a novelty and I like making a neat pile of aprons ready for my colleagues to wear to look presentable in the cafe. Sometimes I sing to myself..."Dashing Away with the Smoothing Iron" was a song I learned at school when I was about five years old, and I've never forgotten it!

The cafe was so busy that when I was on Meet and Greet later on, we had to turn quite a few people away. They didn't have aa booking and every table was taken. WE have a really excellent photography exhibition on just now - do come and see it if you're in the area. Old postcards of Dumfries  are superimposed on modern images to show how much (or how little) has changed. Interestingly, the photographer has decided that the modern photos should be taken on an iPhone and processed within two minutes, as a contrast to the lengthy and laborious way in which the vintage ones were produced. I found it quite poignant to see people from 150 years ago occupying the same streets that we walk and shop in now - children with bare feet, soldiers off to war. men driving horses and carts..

I had a brief sauna after work to relax and then caught the bus home.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

* the downtown abbey version - https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vYwIz1dJygo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.