Joan’s blips

By Keepingitsimple

Moorings & Salvage

The waters in the local area have many rather expensive looking sailing boats (extra … although taken from a distance) and I often noted the contrast of an old boat that was always there. I was a passenger today so I was able to take a photo from a moving car.

I discovered that it is a barge with a tug nearby to maintain moorings for different boat owners. They also build moorings. What I thought was someone’s old boat is a barge belonging to the Central Coast Moorings & Salvage.  It is towed to the mooring to be checked and the crane lifts the mooring onto the barge for cleaning and checking and if needed, repairs. If it wasn’t for Blipfoto I would never had known this interesting fact. Well interesting to me.

I spent a good deal of the day stripping varnish and paint off the coffee table I just reclaimed from my sister. The slates in the middle of the table had been painted white (sadly) and could not be detached (extra). It was very fiddly work and I will need to do some more tomorrow before putting on the new varnish or stain.

Went shopping to buy a new bedroom rug and later cooked food for the dogs. Cleaning up after the work had to be done and watering the gardens. Phew! Exhausting for me but I will recover with a relaxing evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.