The Silent Traveller - again

Not a bad day today - sunshine and clouds. I woke up feeling a bit more lively so we thought that after our usual Saturday morning - library, fresh fish and today, bird seed, we might take a picnic lunch and go down to Crinan for a walk along the canal.

Unfortunately when we got back from town the clouds were gathering and I wasn't feeling as lively as I thought, so we didn't go out after all. So today's Blip is an indoor one, and it was only as I began to put it together that I discovered I'd Blipped 'The Silent Traveller' before - just over a year ago! Not to worry - Mr Chiang is here again now! (I've just realised that I Blipped him back in 2017 too!)

Chiang Yee (1903-1977) came to Britain in 1933 and became famous for his 'Silent Traveller' books, as well as his Chinese painting and calligraphy. I have some 18-20 of his books and would like to find the rest sometime! He writes with a great deal of honesty about the people and places he visits for the first time and compares them with the culture of China. Well worth seeking out. The water colour in the Blip is of St Anthony's Chapel in Holyrood Park, Edinburgh. This book, 'The Silent Traveller in Edinburgh', is the only one I have signed by the author.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.