CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Great spotted woodpecker on the pussy willow tree

After most of the lying snow from last night had melted I went out early to refill the bird feeders. Then I retired to my study to watch the hungry birds. The usual array of tits, blackcaps, bullfinches, goldfinches as well as the ground feeding dunnocks, robins and blackbirds scoffed hungrily. I don't blame them. It was very cold.

Sometime later I looked out over the garden again and saw this great spotted woodpecker on the sunflower feeder and managed to get a couple of pictures of it. It then flew up closer to where I was standing in my study, to land on the trunk of the pussy willow tree. 

I had to photograph through the double-glazed windows as there was no chance of opening them without scaring it off. I was pleased to get this pose, which it only held for a few seconds before flying away again down the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.