The abandoned red telephone box

I passed by this red telephone box without realising it was there. I just happened to stop my car nearby to look at some daffodils growing on the roadside and then saw the telephone box set back in a space between two hedges.

I stood with my foot wedged in the doorway to keep it open so I could show the detail of the layers of old paint, the cobwebs and some ivy that had grown through one of the cracks in the windows. Unfortunately this shot doesn't show them. The phone has gone and there is a sign saying the box is the responsibility if the local parish council. Some old telephone boxes have been adapted as community book libraries. No sign of such behaviour here.

I've added an 'Extra' to show the box in situ.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.