CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Observer comes to town

The Friday market in The Shambles is now much quieter than the Saturday market, since the Farmers Market started more than twenty years ago and became hugely successful. For centuries Friday was the day when farmers and small holders brought their produce to town with animals, vegetables and household wares being available in the Shambles outside the Town Hall, as there were only a few local shops. We’ve noticed that people who formerly came to the Friday market enjoyed the sociability.

Stella Parkes is the Mayor of Stroud Town and every Friday she visits The Shambles indoor market where I have a stall. A table is set up for her so that local residents can meet the 'Mayor in the Market', ask questions and get advice. Eleven years ago I blipped Stella when I was photographing people whom Stroud Preservation Trust had featured in our book 'Stroud – a town changed by action'. Among many other things Stella was a journalist and local environmental activist before she became a town councillor, and then mayor in 2019/20. 

Today my stall was close to her table, when no-one was talking to her, I nipped over to say hello. I'm still very keen on following and supporting the good work the town council does, having been a town councillor myself for fifteen years. Stella mentioned that she was expecting a visit from a journalist and photographer, who had been commissioned by The Observer, a major Sunday national newspaper in Britain. Just then the journalist arrived, so I got up to let the interview commence. Soon after my dear friend Camilla H. arrived with Lucas S., both of whom are current town councillors. 

Apparently The Observer want to print an article asking the question how a town like Stroud, a market town in Gloucestershire in the west of England, would be affected by the recent Government budget pronouncements revealed in Parliament last Wednesday. I expect it will appear in this Sunday's edition. the paper is part of the The Guardian group and can usually be found on their combined website, possibly here.

I chatted to Adrian S., the photographer, until he needed to take the pictures of Stella, Camilla and Lucas. I couldn't resist recording the scene for my blip. The journalist tried to keep out of sight!

Update:
The article did run on page 4 and 5 of The Observer on Sunday 10th March 2024, but didn't use a picture of the mayor. They found local residents on the streets to feature who commented with their views for the article. I think that is was more appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.