JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Ta-dah!

I had never sewn a fly zip before, so I was really pleased to succeed in replacing the zip in a pair of P's trousers. I did a lot of dressmaking in my teens and twenties, but I made dresses, skirts, tops, nightwear; later, I sewed only occasional things for J and a few  cushion covers, and these days it's almost exclusively mending. It's probably over thirty years since I last put in a zip of any kind. I followed a set of online instructions, with words and photos (which I much prefer to YouTube video tutorials), and it proved less challenging than I expected. There's still some finishing to do, and the holes in the pockets need patching, but I hope they will give plenty more wear. There must be at least four more pairs with broken zips in the mending piles...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.