Sebulon

By sebrose

Bed creation

Nick and I repair the back wall of the veg store and replace the frame made for the clerestory windows with bales. This involves loosening ratchet straps and jacking up the roof to make enough space for the extra bales to slip in. We use a trolley jack from the floor and a bottle jack from the straw bales and is much simpler than it sounds.

After lunch, I finish removing the lower row of tyres and begin to shift the strawberry plants left behind. The sun is bright and my belly is full of food. In less than an hour I’m feeling a bit lightheaded, so it’s back to the house. I catch the tail end of a meeting with Dan about returning Cucumber to the community.

And then an unexpected trip to West Linton to buy a small, solid, side table. Nick drives to one of the new houses by the roundabout. An old couple are selling their heavy tables, because they not strong enough to lift them any more. To celebrate the purchase we grab a swift half at the Gordon Arms - where Gary is having his traditional Friday afternoon swally.

I pack a goody bag of lamb, vegetables, apple juice and head for Earlston as night falls. Kerry has made lasagna, so no cooking for me tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.