A souvenir from 1894…..

More sorting of old photos etc this afternoon from both my mothers and fathers families. This is a souvenir of my mothers parents wedding. It is very small (3.5 x 4.5”) and is beautifully hand written and decorated. See the extra which is a cutting from the local paper which has been mounted and a delicate red line drawn around it. Unfortunately I am unable to find any photographs of the wedding. I would be interested to know if this was a souvenir that my grandmother did for herself as a keepsake or whether she made some for others too……at first glance it looks printed but is definitely hand done and I know she won prizes for drawing and handwriting at school/ college. Reading the piece from the paper it sounds as if the bride and bridesmaids had very nice expensive clothes, her father was a farmer but I think quite a successful one In Gloucestershire 

When I have been through all the photos ( I’m writing the names of the people on the back as many are no longer living) I’m aiming to have another go at our family tree which I have started using Ancestry.co.U.K. and will add some photos to it. A cousin of my husbands did a lot on his family tree so I will have to add that too,

We actually woke up to some sun this morning and went to Bushy Park. It was very crowded there and hardly any spaces in the car park at 9.45. There are extensive works going on…chopping down lots of rhododendrons in the Woodland gardens and replacing the wooden perimeter fence with metal fencing…the style that was used in 17/18C in many country estates…I’m guessing this is an alloy though and not iron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.