Books

The awful weather today means a book blip.  The weather was so awful that even swimming was cancelled and you know how hardy we are usually. I was very relieved when someone else called it off because I didn't want to appear a wimp. 
The book club book was Circling the Sun; a book I would not have chosen but I loved it. It was by far the best of the months reading. Paula McLain has re-written the life of Beryl Markham as an historical novel with Beryl as the narrator. Beryl was a horse trainer/ aviator in South Africa in the 1920s.  Its a powerful and moving story.  
Of the rest Little Black Lies has already been taken back to the charity shop which is why you get an advert for it instead of the book., but it was quite a good read.  I finished Elly Griffiths Norfolk series  so started her Brighton books, another area of the country I know well. But I didn't enjoy it as much. Dana Stabenow writes about Alaska which is very interesting and puts you off visiting  in the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.