Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Reminder That I'm Home

This little cactus flower popped open this morning and reminded me that I was home in Green Valley, Arizona.

I'm a little conflicted. After having gone back to my "home" last August for my High School reunion and spending some time on Lake Erie, and then returning to my college this week and doing the same, I'm longing to spend more time there.

On ther other hand, I have come to really like my new surroundings of six years here in southern Arizona. There is sun nearly every day and I don't have to shovel any snow in the winter. I have also become attached to the cactus I have grown from mere cuttings in my yard.

[It's almost as if the twenty-three years I spent in Maryland has faded from my memory. Maybe because I didn't have any family there with whom to share my life's experiences.]

People tell me that your home is where you make it. But I think "home" to me will always be the town up north on Lake Erie where my heart still lies...and where I will be buried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.