Life through the lens...

By ValC

Frogspawn

We had a very enjoyable wine tasting last night. Good wines, good food and good company.
The surprise of the evening was a sparkling Beaujolais. A really delightful pink fizz, made from the Gamay grape, which none of us had ever seen before.

Today started well with blue sky and sunshine so I decided to walk up to the farm for eggs, and also walk a bit further round Tong moor.
I was delighted to find plenty of frogspawn in the marshy pond. Hopefully it won’t dry up this year before the tadpoles hatch out.
On my way back I noticed a sign on a post and went over to have a look. Apparently Kirklees Council are going to plant a few hundred trees on the bottom moor. All part of the overall plan to help the environment. Not sure I am in agreement with this in this particular spot. It is going to completely change the landscape, and habitat. There is one part that is quite boggy and a particular variety of flowers and plants grow there. Including yellow irises.
Fortunately ( I think) the top moor which is where the frogspawn was and is also quite boggy in places, and also covered partly in gorse, will be left alone.
It will certainly be interesting to see what develops this summer.

The egg hut was quite busy. Three people in front of me buying several trays of eggs, and two cars passed me as I walked back up the lane. Unless he has some more to put out they would be disappointed as only two trays were left.

Just on my way back and the sun disappeared and I walked home in a snow storm!
Got a call from a MrC to see where I was as it was snowing so heavily.
Needless to say it stopped just as I got to the gate and the sun came out again.
Trying to walk as normal as possible although the foot is still a bit painful and so I am rather slow. Hopefully gradually improving.

I have tagged this for Tiny Tuesday, although not suitable for today’s challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.