Biscuits

Biscuits, like raffles, are an integral part of life in Pitlochry.  Many meetings take place in people's houses and biscuits are generally offered along with tea & coffee; sometimes supplied by host, sometimes brought by another participants.  I confess to not offering biscuits when my Gaelic Group meets, mainly because we rarely have biscuits in the house. I do however do provide freshly ground and brewed coffee (least you think I was letting the side down :-) ) 

I try and avoid the biscuits (an approach I also adopted when at work-related meetings) but these biscuits provided by MH at u3a bookgroup this afternoon were too tempting to resist. Reader I ate 2 ! 

The books was Light Perpetual by Francis Spufford which provoked a mixed reaction - some really liking it, others hating it and others (myself included) ambivalent. This is in turn provoked a lively discussion. followed by non-book group chat over the tea/coffee and biscuits. 

We have a couple of new members and it is nice getting to know them better. I walked home with one who lives across the park from me. 

The rest of the day has been spent, yes you've guessed on untangling my family tree and my Gaelic Coursework. I can now ask and answer what colour eyes and hair people have in multiple ways, remembering always that colour is on things, hair is on you but eyes (and other body parts) are at you, the implication being that those things on you are less permanent. In a similar vein liking is with you but dislike is on you, as is fear, hunger and thirst. Sin agaibh e ! 

Country Dancing beckons this evening - it will be nice to engage a different part of my brain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.