The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Prayer Ribbons

... alternate title - Blowing in the Wind

Needed to go to Clearwater for a repeat on my last bloodwork and while I was there I wandered the downtown for a bit with my older Pan - Lumix bridge camera. Though it has developed some quirks in it's old age (kinda like me), I brought it along because it has an impressive reach. As it turned out I didn't need that much zoom (equivalent of up to 1200 with Leica glass) but better to have it and not need it, than the other way around.

Clearwater is home to the Flag (Scientology international headquarters) and their presence can be seen pretty much everywhere you go. This church though is the Peace Presbyterian Church. Vintage Florida style structures and colors with beautiful grounds and meditation gardens surrounded by wrought iron fences and gates. My eye was drawn to these prayer ribbons streaming in the wind and as I read some of the entreaties, I knew I had found my Blip for the day.

Our day to day pace is returning to normal (whatever that is) following the "Howl at the Moon" coffeehouse and kitchen party on Sunday. We had a healthy and enthusiastic crowd who seemed to ejnoy themselves, there was some fine howling and even some three part harmony. By the time of the last accounting, I'm sure the jar by the door will provide a healthy donation to St. Jude's Children's Cancer Hospital.

... and the adventure though the viewfinder continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.