Tulip Macro

Thank goodness for Trader Joes, which always has beautiful tulips to purchase, such as these.  I was in the mood to do some selective focus macro work.  

We just had our 40th wedding anniversary this past weekend and I must say, my husband outdid himself.  He told me that we were going to go away, but the destination was to be a surprise.  After 40+ years of living here there aren't too many destinations that we haven't been, so I started racking my brain as to where.  I had a number of possibilities in mind.

When we drove off, he started going north towards Western Maryland and Pennsylvania, which immediately eliminated all the Virginia and DC destinations, but then he took an exit and and started going south again, which then opened up all those destinations once more.  He told me we were going to stop for lunch before we got to our final destination. 

When we headed out into Virginia along Rte 50, I felt pretty sure we were going to Middleburg for lunch.  When we parked in front of the Red Fox Inn, I excitedly thought "Oh boy, this is it for lunch," however he then told me that because the Bidens had eaten there recently, he had not been able to get a reservation, so we ate across the street at another lovely restaurant. It was perfect. 

 In the back of my mind, I still thought we might be spending the night at the Red Fox Inn....but, no! After lunch, we got in the car and started to head out of town so I immediately though we were going to the Shenandoah Mountains and Valley, another hour away, and I knew of several possible destinations there.  I was very good however, and kept all my guesses to myself. 

Suddenly he took a right turn and went down a road I had never been before  through some lovely grassy, rolling hill areas and pulled up to the Salamander Resort and Spa. There it was:  beautiful countryside surrounding a very elegant hotel. There were fires going in all the fireplaces in the lounge areas.  They informed me as we checked in what time my massage was scheduled for and waiting in our room which also had a fireplace was a bottle of champagne on ice.  

An exquisite dinner awaited us in the Harriman Grill which was named after the Harriman family. The little goodie in extra was given to us to take back to our room and it was still warm.  My massage the next day in the gorgeous spa was wonderful.   All in all, it couldn't have been more perfect.  We had a wonderful time and he gets an A++, as always. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.