RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Windows

The window installation was supposed to start yesterday but on Sunday afternoon I got a message saying that there was a delay at customs (the windows have been made in Foreign - the EU). My builders rejigged their work yesterday but the site manager could not change his plan to go and see another job today. So he asked me to be at the house at 8am to meet the windows people when they arrived. I met the person who sent Sunday's email and a bit later I met the installers then everybody hung around waiting for the windows themselves to arrive. They were definitely in the UK but their driver was incommunicado. At 9.30 I gave up and left.

At 11.40 my neighbour sent me a photo of the patio doors going in and at 2.40 another of my bedroom window. I resisted the temptation to go over and get under their feet but after everyone had finished work I met Secondborn there. It's exciting to have natural light in the rooms after months of them being boarded up.

Mima and Veronica were right - the great stack of bricks at the back looks a lot less intimidating with windows in. But I will incur some wrath. I have opted not to have mullions or transoms since on triple glazed windows (like double-glazed windows) they serve no structural purpose and are stuck onto the glass for purely aesthetic reasons. Mine are now the only windows in the street which don't pay homage to the 19th century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.