Monika

One of three dionysia plants that I bought at the AGS show in Pershore last month.  Under the flowers, the cushion of foliage is about an inch across.   Over twenty years ago, I grew Dionysia Monika, a hybrid of cultivation, to about eight inches across.  Wonder how big this one will get.   It's one of the easier dionysias so hopefully I can keep it happy.  It will live under glass, probably transferred to a clay pot plunged into damp sand in the greenhouse.

A busy day.  I met C out by the mouth of the Dysynni this morning, taking advantage of the best weather on offer today, bright sunshine as we set out.   The two dogs got plenty of exercise chasing each other around as we walked.  C will be moving back to England to live with some of her family soon, Meg and I will enjoy their company while we can until then.  

I dropped into work around midday, catching a few minutes with my boss to discuss the forthcoming pay rise.  Like so many others who claim carers allowance, the government's decision to increase the earnings allowance by the minimum amount is at odds with rises in the minimum and living wage rates.  A pay rise of £13 a week, in line with the living wage, will cost me the benefit as allowance only goes up by half that amount, effectively wiping out over a third of my income.  So we have agreed to reduce my contract to keep me under the threshold.  Effectively this means no pay rise but it's the lesser of two evils.

After lunch, I pottered about at home while a lamb casserole cooked in the slow cooker.  An enjoyable evening with the shanty singers followed and on my return home, Jamie, Clara and their dogs dropped in after a stargazing trip to the seafront.   A raucous hour followed as Hubble and Meg renewed their friendship!   Nice to see Clara too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.