Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

Clivia pollination day

I decided to take the plunge and pollinate the Clivia today.  It means the flowers will start to fade sooner, but I hope I will get lots of seeds this time next year - yes, they do take that long!!
Everything seems to be growing! I even found this shallot in the veg drawer of the fridge doing its best.  I may be kind and give it a pot!!   The crocus are doing well too.
I had an hour on the allotment in the afternoon, which was spent spreading old wood chip to level the potato plot, so I can put down cardboard and then compost for my biggest no dig bed yet.  I have got a good supply from a new allotmenteer who is clearing her new plot of all the woodchip and plastic sheets put down by her predecessor.  I have lent her my wheelbarrow and my plot is closer that the communal compost heap, so it is a win win situation.  :-)

Edited to add the extra that I thought I had added originally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.