Observations

Each day I note and submit various weather observations to the UKs Met Office. I’ve been doing this for many years now.
This morning the rainfall captured in the brass receptacle had frozen and after some warming on the radiator I managed to dislodge the frozen water . I usually pour the water into the plastic measuring pot and record the amount which has fallen. I’m part way through the process here!
‘Why not use an electronic recording device?’ I have one of those but it is not accurate - at least not enough for me. I have a traditional 5 inch brass receptacle which has stood the test of time and is very accurate. 
I would really like to have the same instruments as the Met Office at their sites but the cost is eye watering so I do the best I can within my available budget.
Three years ago during the first lockdown I was taking part in the digitising of handwritten rainfall records going back to the Victorian age with a group called Zooniverse. This will help with seeing trends surrounding global warming and its effects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.