MY SOUL LIES IN THOSE HILLS

It's W-I-D-E Wednesday and this is definitely a wide shot. The Challenge is "weather."  We've had some snow lately and it has piled up.
~
This is the Millpond  in the small village where I reside.  It's an impoundment on the Mullet River which was used to drive the water wheel that operated the sawmill in town in times past.  But the millpond remains and is a source of beauty and tranquility in this small village who's human population numbers at about 400 and change.
~
Those "hills" to the south are gravel piles (moraines) left behind by a wave of glacial activity as it retreated this area about 10-12,000 years ago.  My soul lives there and it's where my ashes will be scattered along with those of my faithful dog Vinnie.  He was always at my side and, together, we will listen to the Spring Peepers as they sing from the water filled "kettles" between the moraines and see the morning sunrises as our bodies become recycled and incorporated into the bodies of all those beautiful trees and then shared with all the critters that feed off of them.
~
Best viewed in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.