LesTension

By LesTension

IT'S STILL WINTER HERE

Yup, things are pretty well frozen over in my neighborhood but there are certain areas on small wetlands that have some open water and certain places where spring activity bubbling up from underground keeps the ice to a minimum all winter.  Lots of underwater plants like Elodea and Watercress are there as a winter salad for those harvesters with long enough necks to reach them. There's even lots of invertebrates like Gammarus sp. to feed on which supplies a nice shot of winter protein.
~
These two Canada Geese (Branta canadensis) were butt up/head down grazing as I stopped my AWD horse and pushed the long lens out the window.  I was sorry to interrupt their lunch but they went right back to it after I left.
~
Best viewed in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.