More whistle training

This morning I went for a walk through 'Squirrel Woods' so that I could practise my whistle recall. Ann wanted to see if I responded to the whistle, even if I were chasing squirrels.


Mmmmmmm................... Initially Ann thought my whistle recall was perfect and she was feeling really pleased with herself. Every time she blew the whistle I had to go zooming back to her and I got a treat. Even when I was chasing squirrels, I was pretty good at going straight back to Ann. Well, those pesky little creatures always go up trees don't they, so obv a treat is preferable to chasing something that I can never catch.


After we'd walked through 'Squirrel Woods', we had to walk through 'Colinton Mains Park'. Guess what I found beside the burn in Colinton Mains Park?..................................... a load of bread that some crazy person had thrown out for the birds or rats!!! 


We'd walked for more than 3 miles at this point, and as I hadn't bothered to eat my breakfast, I was hungry, so I thought I might as well have bread for breakfast. Yum, yum.


Ann was a little way ahead, so she blew the whistle. And waited!!!! She blew the whistle again. And waited!!


 ….............Why on earth would I want to go back to Ann for one weeny, teeny, little treat, when I had loads of bread to eat? Ann walked back to get me and dragged me away from all the lovely bread by my collar.............................


BUT, this whole experience has taught her that my 'whistle recall' is far from perfect. In fact, it's absolute rubbish. Obviously if I'd had the chance to eat all the bread, I would have gone straight back to Ann once my tummy was full.


Now Ann is feeling really disheartened.


#lifewithacolliepupisnoteasy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.