Headless

I’d been after one of these headless basses for a while since saw one in a second hand shop during lockdown. I just missed out on that one when the shop reopened and have been keeping an eye out since.
So the coincidence of receiving the refund from the energy company on the same day that R&T Music posted online that they had just taken this Steinberger Spirit in part exchange, could only be a sign from above that I was meant to buy it. Also, Mrs C had already laid claim to some of the refund, having bought a new pair of boots over the weekend!
Before the rest of the refund was claimed in a similar manner, I dashed through to Barrow and made my purchase. Though physically a lot smaller than my main (Fender Jazz) bass guitar, it has the same scale length so will be the ideal spare to take to gigs (or some rehearsals) as it doesn’t take up as much room as a “normal” guitar. I did enquire about restringing it with flatwounds, but due to the unique shape and setup of this guitar it needs special strings, so it would be a costly exercise. As it’s only meant to be a backup in case of emergency, I think I’ll just live with it as it is. It’s certainly in excellent condition and looks to have hardly been played - maybe it was someone else’s backup bass!
Having said all that, I’ll probably give it an airing at our next gig - if only to establish what tweaking will be needed to the amp settings to get a similar sound to the Jazz. And my short scale - much modified - Bronco bass has now been retired from active duty and will be used for when I need to practice at home.
There, I knew I could justify buying another guitar, if I thought about it hard enough…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.