Rendezvous London

On This Day In History
1985: Journalist Terry Anderson kidnapped

Quote Of The Day
"People are capable of doing an awful lot when they have no choice and I had no choice. Courage is when you have choices."
(Terry Anderson)

This day got off a to a bad start. I had heard that the underground trains would get off to a late start, but I assumed that meant there would be delays. No. I arrived at Bayswater Station at 06:45 to find it locked. Somene suggested I walk to Queenswater Station, so I did. That was locked too. However, somebody there told me Google said the trains would begin running at 07:30, so I decided to walk station to station along the train route I planned to take to London Bridge.

I got as far as Gloucester Road Station just before 08:00 and there was a sign saying the trains would begin running at approximately 08:00. They actually commenced at 08:10, so I finally arrived at London Bridge Station at 08:40, forty minutes later than Sara and I had planned to meet up. I spotted her just outside the ticket barrier and we went for a walk along the Thames.

Sara was just as warm, friendly, inviting and hospitable as I had imagined she would be. We talked non-stop for over an hour, first as we strolled and then as we sat in a tea shop. I do believe we could have continued chatting all day without running out of things to say or tiring of each other's company. I am so happy we finally got to meet after so many years of conversing through Blipfoto.

After we went our separate ways, I walked across London Bridge to the Tower Of London, then on to The Globe Theatre and then finally London Eye. I am such a tourist.

From Westminster I took the Tube to South Kensington where I went to the Science Fiction exhibition at the Science Museum. That was cool. I then walked station to station back to Bayswater.

What a great day!

Station To Station

(The U.S.S. Enterprise model is signed by George Takei and Nichelle Nichols.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.