RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Problem, big problem 2

Background - I was very apprehensive when Ph, the director of the building firm, emigrated to Australia last December and appointed a new director, P, to oversee my build. They joked to me that I'd have a 24-hour operation. As things have turned out it's been absolutely fine. 

Ph has gradually become less involved so I was interested to see a message from him around mid-day (midnight his time) with a picture of the new part-installed bay window sticking out beyond the bay roof. 
Him: Something definitely wrong!!!! Worth a chat with [window firm]. Shouldn't be sat proud like that.
Me: I'm at work. Can't get to house until 5. Are you talking with P and building manager?
Him: Just needs an email to [window firm]. That a v poor fitting window. I'll send one now.

Two minutes later I was copied into his email which included the four images along the bottom of my blip:
Please can you review the installation by your team. Does this meet your standards for supply and fit? I'm surprised your team were happy to walk away from that. I think there has been an issue. Either we have to completely rebuild the bay roof to be large enough to accommodate the bigger window or a new window needs to be supplied. The former being quicker but we'd need our cost compensating.

The larger image is one I took this evening showing the emergency repairs my builders did to the bay roof yesterday (my responsibility) and the gap between the existing structure and the bay window that has been supplied by the windows firm based on a survey that they themselves did (their responsibility).

The upshot is that there will be a meeting at the house tomorrow morning involving the windows firm, my builders and me.

Meanwhile I tried out some of the other windows (not all of which fit as I thought they would but they can be bodged acceptably) and discovered that the windows have no stays, the back door has no outside handle and all the handles are a horrible white plastic. I nearly sent an email but thought I'd come home first and dig out my notes from the very first starry-eyed meeting I had with the windows people when I specified brushed chrome handles. I found them and to my bewilderment my own handwriting records, 'White frames, ditto handles.' What was I thinking?

My responsibility. 

So tomorrow morning we concentrate on the structural not the aesthetic.

I am drained and dispirited. I went to choir practice this evening and couldn't sing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.