The 'Veenmolen', Wilnis

'Veen' sounds like 'vain' but means 'fen', and you can see the linguistic connection there.  In fact, 'veen' is called 'ven' in some areas.  Like many, many other places here, we're looking at what used to be wetlands -- either very swampy, or medium-swampy, or lightly swampy and reclaimed, and some of the latter are now polders.
'Wilnis' sounds the way it looks.

The fair weather bloomed in the afternoon.  Before the hunt, I had a half hour of coaching at work, and, before that, I phoned the chosen notary public for an appointment, which was set at 16.00.  Between the session with the student and the notary public, three hours were at my disposal, enough for the hunt and long before late afternoon rush hour.  Thankful again for cloud radar, but this was close as more clouds floated into the scene from the west on my way back.

This windmill was positioned on this spot in 1823, making it officially 200 years old this year, but, according to historians, there are clues that indicate that it is, in fact, much older than that and was most likely standing somewhere else.  Looking at the style, I wouldn't mind adding at least a century -- 1723.  Of course, it doesn't look old at all as it is clean and well-maintained.

Extra -- some very curious sweetheart sheep!  They either thought I had brought some food with me or were just plain curious.

The appointment with the notary public done, I looked at the time and knew I would not make it to the courthouse.  I did go for it, but, then, rush hour traffic in town slowed me down considerably and I arrived in the area near closing time.  No matter, I can do that tomorrow and then head to DHL to send it off.

Beau picked up AW for Thursday evening live bridge, leaving me some lovely quiet hours to do kitchen duties and relax with my hobbies.  Thankful for my windmills.  Also thankful for the nice WhatsApp message from the Viking at some point today -- the judge has agreed with our request to be allowed to subpoena documents from the Opposition.  What is especially 'nice' about this is that we know these documents don't exist.  Because they do not exist, some lies and some fraudulent activities can be proven.  At least, that is our objective.  A wait-and-see situation again, and we are used to it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.