Border Crossing

The Royal Border Bridge over the River Tweed carries trains on the main East Coast line. It's a wonderful structure and although an unoriginal blip for the area I'm happy with it. Because this has been largely a lighthouse tour I'm including an extra of Berwick Town Hall the upper part of which was designed as a 'guiding light' for shipping.

Packed up this morning and went for breakfast at the great deli we discovered on day 1 and haven't bothered to look elsewhere. Thanks to the owner we'd made contact with a town guide who took us a really informative and interesting walk on the town walls. I understand a lot more about Berwick's strategic importance and why it changed hands so often between the ancient Kingdoms of Northumbria (= North of the Humber, I never knew that), Scotland and England. 90 minutes well spent.

Quick bowl of soup then to the station. My train, I discovered, is due to terminate in Edinburgh. J already knew that hers, to Inverness, wasn't running. We got an earlier one to Edinburgh and I'm now on the last leg home.

What a great break it's been. I'm going to try to catch up with blip but I'm quite tired so it might not be till tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.