Cray 1


<back blip>

I can feel an essay coming on here....

On Friday night I watched the last ever ER (already blipped and written up nicely by shawnthesheep). I really enjoyed it, but as I have watched ER right from the start in 1994 I was really sad to see it end - it has been a constant through many changes in my life! I also felt sad not to be watching it with MrsCyclops, because we usually watch it together and this was a bit of a special event. I'm having a fantastic experience on this fellowship, but there are things that we are both missing out on that we will never get back. I know it's a silly thing to make me think that...

Working at Sun is very interesting, and I'm not on the technical side at all which is a nice change for me. That doesn't mean I'm noT being geeky though, and I'm doing lots of research on companies doing techy things especially in Scotland and thinking about projects I might pursue. My flatmate is a (closet) geek too, so we occasionally lapse into geek-chat.

Today we took geekiness to a new level by going to the Computer History Museum in Mountain View. I really enjoyed it - I saw lots of machines I remember as well as lots of stuff I'd never seen before like Mercury Delay Lines and Ferrite Core Memory... They have some legendary stuff there like the first Apple 1 computer, Cray supercomputers, and even a replica of the Babbage Difference Engine 2 - thought of by many as the first computer.

Later we went for a long walk on the Pacific coast and saw pellicans, sealions either porpoises or dolphins (can't quite decide...). Then we went to the Half Moon Bay Brewing Company to sample their wares and have some food before heading back to Palo Alto for a few more beverages.

All in all a pretty good day - geeking out, nature and scenery and beer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.