Tulipa cretica

I don't grow any of the well known garden tulips - but I should, as cut flowers on the allotment!   This little beauty is typical of the wild species, being somewhat smaller and more delicate.  I grow two different forms, this one which came as bulbs from an enthusiast, is taller and flowers first.  The other, raised from wild seed, will flower in a week or so and has brighter coloured markings on the outside of the petals.  In both cases the flowers are roughly crocus sized.   I'll try some in the sand bed outside next winter.

As I drew back the curtains to a bright, sunny  morning, thinking a morning walk would be nice, my phone 'pinged'.   C had the same thought and soon we were out on the trail in the woods above Abergynolwyn where the dogs can run free.  On a spring-like day, a real treat.

After lunch I popped to the allotment and planted onion sets.  I did the same this time last year and they were a spectacular failure, most likely due to the fact that it didn't rain for three months from then!   There's a water supply on site now so hopefully they'll do better this time.  Then back to pottery where I progressed the glazing of my tree-house plant holder.  Lots of fiddly bits.  I could just dip it, all one colour, but where's the fun in that?!   Just the little animals to do now.

Home, fish for tea, oven cooked so I made an apple crumble as the oven was on ... well, you have to don't you.   Also making celeriac and mushroom soup, using up the remnants of last year's celeriac crop and some reduced price mushrooms.  Smells good but I'm full of crumble! :-)

Working this weekend is going to feel a bit of a novelty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.