Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Sight size workshop

It doesn't look much for 5 hours but normally this learning process would take place over two weeks for three hours a day. It's the mask of Jean d'Aire in the The Burghers of Calais by Rodin. Not the happiest of faces, and spooky in a room of ten of them!

There were ten people and apart from an easel pincher at the beginning who nicked someone else's it was a good atmosphere. A really good tutor. I really enjoyed it and this was my first full day out of the house since 16th March 2020. When Louise (or Sandra) are with Mr T I switch off almost completely and it was so nice to be immersed in the process and forget about being a carer. I made some videos this morning that Louise could play to Mr T at various points in the day. It was so nice to arrive home and have a bacon and egg toasted sandwich made for me! She said Mr T had a very good chat with the researcher this morning when he came to collect the sleep monitoring equipment.

I got dropped off this morning opposite a Trek bike shop, and there was a gorgeous orange electric mountain bike (McLaren papaya) in the window with 40% off. A customer had returned it so it has a few scratches (so I don't need to worry about the first time it's gets scratched). I had a look at it, and could have put a deposit down to hold it but opted not to. It was still there at lunch time so I thought OK, let's go for it. It has a 60 mile/5 hour range and will do 16 mph. It gives me scope to go further in the times when Jo is here, to see Sandra or go swimming. The bike shop people were amazing and one went out of his way to deliver it to me this evening when he finished work for no charge. They didn't have the mudguards and rack package in stock and because they knew I was a carer they said that they would either collect and return the bike or do it here. How amazing is that?

Roll on Wednesday afternoon and a trial bike ride!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.