Golden Host

Continuing the floral theme, I made my way to the National Trust's Claremont Landscape Garden for a workshop with botanical artist Hazel Wilks on sketching and watercolour painting of the camellias which feature in the gardens.  It turned out I was the only one to book on the workshop. so I had a wonderful day with Hazel learning and practising techniques tailored to me!


Afterwards, I spent the last hour before closing time walking round the lake and back up to the camellia beds for another sight of the flowers we studied today (extra).  The woodland area next to the lake was full of daffodils, and one could not help but recall one of William Wordsworth's most famous poems:

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

                                           William Wordsworth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.