78 F

A morning in the
desert sun with painting pals
cannot be surpassed

~carliewired

I was on my way to Mittry Lake just after 9 AM. The lake is about 18 miles northeast of the city of Yuma in the lower Colorado River. The river feeds this lake and the marshlands around it. 

Our group was a bit larger today as the weather has improved. Some of us stretched out along the edge of the parking area facing the water and some set up on the manmade piers out into the lake. 

There were lots of recreation vehicles and fishers today. The only birds I recognized were American coots and I managed to include a couple in my watercolor. The spouse of one of our painters landed a bass while we were painting. That will be their dinner tonight. 

I got one ink and wash completed and then a pencil sketch when I changed my seating location. 

I'm in for the day now and getting some small jobs done. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.