Huly Hill

I had to take SWMBO and Bags to the tram stop today - they were going into town for something to eat at Harvey Nicol's and then to the theatre to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show (No - they didn't dress up for it).

After that I stopped off and took a couple of shot of Huly Hill at Newbridge. 
It is a 3,500 year old burial mound which (probably) had a double ring of standing stones, although there are only 3 (and a half) remaining.

My next stop was Ratho where I was wanting to try and get some half decent shots of the life sized carving of a man in 'death clothes' (looks a bit like Japanese clothing) underneath a coffin shaped gravestone. There is some dubiety as to the name and date on the grave with the descendants claiming is is a well known poet with a different Christian name. Who knows? ...... all I know is my pictures aren't great.

From there I wandered over to the marina (built in 2014 along with all  the houses in that area that have taken away the 'quiet, backwater character of the old village). There is also a metal sculpture which I thought was made from a modern gate that used to be across the road from the church. It isn't - but it is made in the same style of 'layers'.
I also took pictures of a sculpture of a horse drawn narrow boat, the bridge over the canal (which has now been named after the now  deceased owner of the pub which overlooks it (he was the driving force in having the canal brought back to being navigatable and did a huge amount for charities).

In the evening I had to go back to the tram stop to collect the girls - it was a lot quieter than earlier with most of the people having collected their vehicles (along with their parking tickets for the illegally parked ones on the double yellow lines and verges) after the rugby.

If you start Here there are some shots that might help to explain all the waffle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.