Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Kitchen Table

PERHAPS THE WORLD ENDS HERE
By Joy Harjo


The world begins at a kitchen table. No matter what, we must eat to live.

The gifts of earth are brought and prepared, set on the table. So it has been since creation, and it will go on.

We chase chickens or dogs away from it. Babies teethe at the corners. They scrape their knees under it.

It is here that children are given instructions on what it means to be human. We make men at it, we make women.

At this table we gossip, recall enemies and the ghosts of lovers.

Our dreams drink coffee with us as they put their arms around our children. They laugh with us at our poor falling-down selves and as we put ourselves back together once again at the table.

This table has been a house in the rain, an umbrella in the sun.

Wars have begun and ended at this table. It is a place to hide in the shadow of terror. A place to celebrate the terrible victory.

We have given birth on this table, and have prepared our parents for burial here.

At this table we sing with joy, with sorrow. We pray of suffering and remorse. We give thanks.

Perhaps the world will end at the kitchen table, while we are laughing and crying, eating of the last sweet bite.


****




This is one of my favourite poems and if you have a moment look at some of Joy’s poetry.

On Mother’s Day I have cooked my Mammy here favourite meal, gave her tulips (her favourite bloom) and put up the MUM bunting.

And here is my kitchen table (from left)…

Giant sunglasses and other gifts for my grandchildren (I call them the unbirthday gifts)

Pyrex dish belongs to Liz and which I must return- she brought me a savoury chicken brocolli bake in it

Menu for new tapas place behind the Magic Carpet (Sal y pepa) must try it

Lemons

Earphones

Beetroot

Portuguese olive oil

Garlic

Pasta sauce

TSB bank on how to re- activate my updated credit card

Cabbage

Mini easel

Helen Birch’s Watercolour books

Vince’s new swanky collar and lead

Envelopes with admin stuff on my to do for about a month

Sunday Times with Johnny Sexton

My favourite apron (think Marge Simpson with the pearls). I love cool aprons.

And this is the tidied up version.

*

I had intended to tell you about our fantastic French art tutor but I have run out of tapping on my phone energy. Today our Spanish Lady fellow student takes over as our tutor and the talk is of Picasso etc. how great is that.

Happy Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.