Tigrayan Women's Fundraiser

Back in January, I met several members of the local Tigray community, and I told them if they ever needed a pro bono photographer, they could call on me. They decided to have a fundraiser for women in Tigray (many of whom have suffered horribly since a war began in 2020). They held the event Saturday night, and they built a banner and set up a red carpet for formal family photographs. I contacted Open Signal, whose director came with lights and video equipment, and each family donated $50 for their photo, all of which will go to women in Tigray.

I made a few hundred family photos, and they also offered a traditional meal for everyone who attended, and they held demonstrations of traditional crafts. My blip is a photo of one of the women at the event who was making a traditional mat with hand-spun cotton thread. Sue went with me and blipped the setup for the family photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.