Skeleton

I was driving along a road near home this morning and saw some people I knew doing a “ litter pick”. I stopped and told them they were doing a great job and we had a moan about the horrendous amount of rubbish and litter in the ditches. We contemplated the possibility of picking up all the McDonald’s wrappers we could find and taking it to the nearest branch, asking to see the manager and dumping the whole lot at his or her feet. If I left litter dumped in the countryside with anything identifying it as mine I could be traced and prosecuted , so why can’t they take it up with the fast food companies whose garbage litters the countryside ?
Anyway she said it was amazing what you find , and told me about this complete skeleton a bit farther along , so I found it and got my blip. A deer? A muntjac? I can’t tell.
By coincidence there’s an item in today’s Sunday Times about people who pick up litter and the red tape surrounding how you then dispose of it. Apparently the litter is not yours and you should technically have a licence to take it to the local recycling centre, even local authorities who encourage litter picks cannot agree what the legal position is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.