RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Internal doors

I was going to spend this weekend sanding and oiling the internal doors but yesterday the site manager told me that the carpenter would be laying floorboards today so there'd be too much sawdust in the air for me to oil. So I arranged to do a load of non-house jobs today and planned to oil on Sunday. But when I called at the house at 11 this morning no-one was there. It turned out the carpenter will be doing the flooring tomorrow. Damn. If I'd known I'd have started work at 7 this morning but since oil takes 24 hours to dry I couldn't start today. Instead I took the protective covers off the six upstairs doors (no, the house isn't that vast - six includes the hot water cylinder cupboard and the MVHR cupboard) and hand sanded them with 120 grit. I decided I'd go over them one evening next week with 180 grit, so it didn't matter that there was no power and I couldn't vacuum up the sawdust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.