Reserved!

It was the busiest Saturday morning at the village hall this year! Non stop from 10-12noon. It was a baptism by fire for Faye our latest volunteer recruit. She's a lovely smiley girl who said she'd enjoyed every minute. She was kitchen helper this week which means helping the 'bacon chef' by loading the trays while they concentrate on cooking, delivering the butties to the tables and retrieving used cups for washing up so we don't run out at the counter! Of course we all muck in when it's really busy like that, even those not on duty that week will collect cups and wash up. Unfortunately the kitchen is quite small and so it's a squash when there are many hands on deck! That of course is part of the fun of the morning! Faye also learned quite a lot of new names and faces! She has put her name on the rota again so she must have enjoyed it! The shop downstairs was also really busy and took £125. Being at the hall early, before kickoff, I was lucky to spot this bookcase brought in and reserved it. I think my cookbooks will look splendid on it. I knew the lady who owned it, she died recently, and I know she would think my use of it a good one. I took us about 45 minutes at the end of the morning to clear away, a sign of a great morning.
I took the rest of the day quietly at home with an easy frittata dinner.
Grateful:
For smiley volunteers
For people who don't mind waiting
For friends to share a morning with

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.