Farm gate eggs

There are lots of places locally where eggs are sold like this, in some kind of little wooden cupboard at the gate, with a box for the money. This is a smallholding, but people who keep half a dozen chickens in their back garden also sell their surplus eggs at the gate. I like to buy eggs locally, especially when I can combine my shopping with a walk, and supermarket supplies have become very unreliable recently as the impact of avian flu has combined with rising costs for producers.

I think this might, at a stretch, reflect today's Mono Monday theme of First Day of Spring: with the arrival of spring, the chickens are laying better and the egg supply improving, and eggs are a symbol of new life. It wasn't a great day for landscape or flower photography, with very grey, misty light, so this is the best I managed. 

Next time I'm there I will take a photo with the door open, as the goose eggs on the top shelf are enormous and prettily marked. The sign at top left reads "Skinny people are easier to kidnap. Stay safe, eat cake". It made me smile, but I don't need excuses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.