CathyH

By CathyH

First Day Of Spring

I welcomed spring by spending the day at Pinnacle Mountain State Park. It certainly didn’t feel like spring. It was 39 degrees when I left home. It did get up to 52 degrees during the time I was there.

One of my favorite spots is the pond by the visitor center. Highly acidic groundwater leaches into a former quarry pit, killing most all aquatic life forms except for blue-green algae, which gives it its unique color.

I then walked the Arkansas Arboretum trail. This trail has a variety of woody plants and trees found in the six natural divisions of Arkansas; the mountains, the plains, and the delta regions. It’s the only place I know where you can see such an amazing variety of trees

I was so grateful for this perfect first day of spring!




several trails to walk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.