Flossmo

By Flossmo

Out to lunch

It was a relief to go our for lunch, the banging and drilling from the bathroom was driving me crazy. Given that the 20th of March is our wedding anniversary a trip to the Italian restaurant in Alton seemed more than justified. It was very quiet and the food, excellent. My only complaint, if it is a complaint, is that the portion sizes were gigantic. Between the two of us we could have fed a family of four.  I nearly asked for a doggie bag but it seemed impolite.  

On the way back I decided to call in on my car mechanic - my car has been making a disconcerting twanging noise when I turn around in the drive recently. Visiting my mechanic is more like a trip to the doctors (or at least how a doctor used to be). As soon as I mentioned the word 'twanging' he said it sounded to him like a broken spring. He fetched his torch, searched behind the front wheels and sure enough the broken spring was located.  He will collect and repair on Friday. In the meantime he says the car is driveable, just, but I have grounded myself to be on the safe side. Apparently he is seeing a lot of broken springs at the moment on account of the terrible state of the roads in the local area. I have to say I have had a couple of too close encounters with potholes recently, one on the main A31 which I saw too late and traversed at speed. Well, I suppose it keeps my mechanic in business.    

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.