Life through the lens...

By ValC

First Day of Spring.

Yes I know it has now probably moved back a day to the 20th, but for me it will always be the First Day of Spring on the 21st March as that was my mother’s birthday.

I have just made a rhubarb and orange flan for tea. One of my mum’s favourites and ours too.

One of her favourite places was Bolton Abbey and it was one of the last places we went together for a day out, and tea at the little cafe overlooking the Abbey.
The waitress very kindly took this photo of us both. ( me with dark hair and a curly perm!)
The black and white photo is in one of my mum’s photo albums. She would have been 20 then. I think it was taken on a choir trip from Allerton Methodist Church, Bradford.

The daffodils are out in the garden. Not quite as nice a day as promised. Although 12C we haven’t any sun and there is a sneaky cold wind. Still beginning to feel more like Spring.

Did you know that it is also Nowruz Day!
This is a joyful festival across the Middle East, the South Caucuses, the Black Sea Basin and Northern, Central South Asia.
In many cultures Nowruz also marks the beginning of a new year - a time to reflect on the past, set intentions for the future, and strengthen relationships with loved ones.
Something we could all do today on the First Day of Spring.

Happy Nowruz to all who celebrate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.