Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wowee!

This beautiful specimen is a Prairie Warbler (Setophaga discolor) and his is the only warbler song I actually recognize. They are usually up in the tree tops and although I got a glimpse of one last week, this is the first really good look I've gotten. He landed in a tree about 20 feet from me, almost at eye level and sang his little heart out. Wowee! Definitely a Moment.

Funny thing was that I had just gotten the D600 and Big Daddy out of the car when I saw this - perfect timing. Couldn't have gotten this shot with the Coolpix that I had been carrying all morning.

The walk was great - saw so many interesting plants, birds, butterflies, dragons and even this rather adorable little pickerel frog and a new moth for me, a white-striped black moth. The native pink lady slipper flowers were blooming at a couple of places along the trail - beautiful flowers that are somewhat rare now. And we also saw a 5 foot black rat snake!

But this Prairie Warbler was the big moment for me - I'm a bit smitten with warblers, I must confess. Maybe because they are so bright and beautiful, and that we only get them for a few months each year. Another shot here, showing the dash of red on his back. And I am not sure, but I think this may be the first Prairie Warbler for the Blip Big Year!

Back at Tallyho, things in the yard are at a normal pace - lots of activity with the chickadee parents, and the Great Crested Flycatcher came by for a quick visit. Saw P-Hummie working the pots of red salvia on the deck this morning, which probably means that the honeysuckle is nearing the end of its bloom. Which in turn means that we should see more of the hummers now. He says thanks ever so much for sending him to the Spotlight Page, by the way, and for the hearts and stars.

Be back later...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.