Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Talking some trash

Thank you for the resoundingly positive feedback on my tiny jumper yesterday. The little guy jumped onto the Spotlight page where he still sits - how delightful!

I took a quick spin around the yard this morning, looking for ... well, anything. And I spotted this little chipmunk, perched on a twig in a big brush pile at the edge of the woods, chipping loudly at me. I crept ever closer, but at about 20 feet, he scampered into the brush pile and away from me and my big lens. I never cease to be captivated by chipmunks, so he was definitely blip-worthy. And a fitting follow up to yesterdays cute spider, don't you think?

My second choice for a blip today was a flash-dancing blue jay. Actually, this was a blue jay trying to get out of the way of a very angry female cardinal who proceeded to chase the jay for about 50 yards or so. I think the jay may have been too close to her nest - I've never seen cardinals chase other birds (except their own kind). Third choice was a close up of Mrs. Downy Woodpecker.

The house wrens have still not finalized a nest sight yet, as I saw the little Mister busily working on a second nest box this morning, taking frequent breaks to sing. House wren males will construct as many as 10 nests before the female selects "the one". It's so fun to watch the little buys heft twigs that are 2 to 3 times longer than them and then work to get them into the 1 1/4 inch nest box opening. I blipped one last May 15, although his twig wasn't really all that challenging...

Hubs and I are going out to dinner with our neighbors tonight - we are going to a local German restaurant which should be fun since our neighbor is German and can tell us what to order. Tomorrow the first two of the three realtors we've contacted are coming over to look at the house and present us with their proposal on how they'd market it, etc. I'm feeling a little anxious about it, probably because I really have no idea what the market in our price range is like. My greatest fear is that they'll tell us it will take months to sell. I know, I need to stop worrying and just find out the facts...

Happy Hump Day, people!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.